I am not sure where the last week has gone … I have been traveling all sorts of poetical lands … painting up some favourites … some for keeps, some for giving away.

WP_20170421_09_31_55_Pro
For a beloved daughter … whose little blonde head was forever hopping about my knees … whose eyes peer directly into mine now, even from a slight downward slant.

Poem-in-your-Pocket day is still a week away and I am very eager to mail you one. Simply email me  and I will make and send you one. That easy – everyone gets a poem – well … up until May 1, 2017.  No poetry participation required.

I have discovered so many lovely poems this week – I confess I may have overindulged … poetry was nearly spilling out of my eyes. My brain – an overfilled vessel, sloshing with imagery, metaphor, similes, and all sorts of delicious literary devices.  It was gluttonous … and delightful … but I have had to pull myself away for a bit to digest.

Task #5:  Writing in metaphor and similes.

(Oh, my goodness, did she just bust out some English class terms?) Yes, yes she did.

As a refresher – metaphors and similes are literary comparisons between two seemingly unlike things.

Metaphor is a direct comparison:  “Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?” Sonnet 18  William Shakespeare

Similes are comparisons using “like” or “as”:  “I wandered lonely as a cloud.” Thank you  William Wordsworth.

That is as close to English class as I hope to get with this — as I do recall the “finding” of metaphors and similes was at times … like being beaten with a wet rag.

But it is fun to write them or rather … I believe it is fun to write them and I am hoping you might find writing them more enjoyable than eating over-cooked broccoli.

This task once again requires a little time, pencil/pen, and paper.  But it can be done anywhere, at anytime. It can be a shared activity – which can be humorous with children and grown up children :).

Helpful hints from Poemcrazy, by Susan Goldsmith Woolridge

“Metaphor is a bridge bring things together. The world is a stage. Life is a dream. The navel is a belly button. … In Greek metaphor literally means to bear or carry over.”

“Look around you. Does your lampshade look like a ballerina’s illuminated pink pleated slipper? Not exactly, but it’s a start. Let yourself go for the farfetched and the ridiculous when you make comparisons.”

Some examples from things I observed while sitting in my messy bedroom:

WP_20170421_10_42_17_Pro

“My embroidery hoops look like orbits around the lampshade.”

“The Tums bottle looks like a hungry fish trying to drink up the ocean.”

“The books on the bookshelf look like a row of tenement houses butting up against one another, no spaces in between.”

“The pencils rise out of the jar like spears jabbing the sky. BEWARE!”

“His shirts hang down from the closet door like moths, wings pulled back.”

Your turn … what do you see … what does it bring to mind? 

Please share 🙂

