Contentment: “An internal satisfaction which does not demand changes in external circumstances”—Holman Bible Dictionary.

These are uncomfortable words which I cannot read without a justifiable flush of shame leaking out of this, my discontented heart.

There is no denial to fall back on – there is no excuse or explanation which can alter the state of things within because my eyes have been focused so completely on the without.

My without – my lacking, my not having, my jealous wanting. These are the walls from which I most often survey the world.

Behind these walls, there is an eerie hollowness – I guard an empty growing space within. I have been too long on my walls.

And yet, there is a call.

A steady, unfaltering, unaltered call …

“Come…

Come in.

Let Peace be with you. Come in.”

I tremble at the offer – my insides are so tender and untended too.

“Perfect – come in.”

The #wholemama word this week is: Contentment     Follow me over to Overflow to read more stories from lovely #wholemama storytellers.

 

