Then: September 4, 2006

A Good Analogy

Most every night, I read a story to the kids before bed this is not something new or revolutionary by any means but last night I was feeling rather ambitious and read them a Dr. Seuss story.

Now I have read this story before and always enjoyed it, as have they, but last night it hit me. The story of Horton Hatches the Egg is my life. Well, no I am not an elephant sitting in a tree and I wasn’t roped into doing it by a bird, but I am doing my best to be faithful to the decisions I have made in life. By which I mean, staying home, raising my children, and educating them the best I can.

It felt good to see myself as the hero, the one sticking it out against the odds, to know that in the end (ultimately perhaps only to Him) but in the end nonetheless I will have been faithful to something (or in this case some ones)

I certainly related to that poor elephant out in the storm, on the ocean, on display and how it doesn’t always feel great but …

I meant what I said,
and I said what I meant
An elephant (aka ME) is faithful 100%

or at least doing all she can to be so.

Again:  July 31, 2015

I have little to add to this – it was, is still a very good analogy.

I may not struggle the same with my choice to be a full-time home educating parent – but I still face my choice daily.  I no longer face uncertain nights full of possible interruptions, crying babies, endless piles of laundry (they do their own), or the daily doling out of the thousand small tasks that would need doing in order to care for my four young children.

These days, parenting my four tween/teenagers is more a matter of staying faithful to the who and how of their hearts and characters.  Holding the line, whichever line it is that most needs holding.

Admittedly, it can be easier to let the line get slack, easier to forget that they still need me to remain faithful, remain steadfast about their needs.  So I still need to remember Horton.

